27~ _VERMON] Diesel Fuel Tax Distributor’s Bond to State of Vermont

120 State Street

Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001
Voice 802.828.2070

Fax 802.828.3577

TDD 711

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES
Agency of Transportation
dmv.vermont.gov

BOND NO.

This agreement is entered between , as principal, and

, as Surety.

The principal has applied to the Commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) for a license to
engage in business as a Diesel Fuel Distributor, beginning on . If the
Commissioner of DMV grants this application, the Principal agrees to render all reports and pay all taxes,
penalties and fines provided in Chapter 27 of Title 23 of Vermont Statutes Annotated.

If the principal fails to render any report or pay tax, penalty or fines required under Chapter 27 of Title 23 of
Vermont Statutes Annotated, as amended from time to time, the Principal and Surety jointly and separately
bind themselves, their heirs, executors, administrators and successors to pay to the State of Vermont and/or
the Commissioner of DMV up to the amount of $ for each year, or
fraction thereof, that this agreement remains in effect.

All obligations under this agreement shall commence when the agreement is signed by the Principal and

Surety and shall cease at midnight on December 31, 20 , except as to any liability that has accrued to
that time.
Dated this day of ,20 at :
County of and State of
WITNESS PRINCIPAL (SEAL)
By:
Dated this day of ,20 at ,
County of
WITNESS SURETY
By:
ATTORNEY-IN-FACT (SEAL)
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BOND REQUIREMENTS

Distributors are required to submit a surety bond with their Motor Fuel License Application /Renewal on an annual
basis. The amount of the surety bond will be reviewed annually. The minimum bond amount required shall be sum
of the highest two months’ payment during the preceding year or $1,000.00, whichever is greater, but in no case
shall it exceed $700,000.00. For new licenses, the bond amount shall be based on an estimate of the tax liability for

a two month period.

The bond amount as established above shall be increased whenever the Commissioner deems it necessary to
protest the revenues of the state. In addition, if payments and reports are delinquent for more than ten days for
more than one reporting period in a calendar, the bond amount shall be increased to be the sum of the tax liability

for the highest four months of the calendar year.

A hearing can be requested with the Commissioner for release or reduction of the bond amount. The Distributor
must have complied with all licensing and reporting requirements for a least three consecutive years. If the
Commissioner determines that a release or reduction will not unreasonable jeopardize State revenues, the request
shall be granted. The Commissioner can reimpose or increase a bond if determined the State revenues will be

unreasonably jeopardized.

If the release or reduction of a bond is granted, the Distributor shall submit financial statements on an annual basis.
The distributor shall present a report on financial position to include an income statement, balance sheet and
statement of changes in financial condition. The financial statements shall be reviewed by a Certified or Registered
Public Accountant and will be the result of a “review of financial statement” as defined by the American Institute of
Certified Public Accounts (AICPA) — a compilation is not acceptable.

Any surety on a bond furnished by the Distributor shall be discharged from any liability to the state accruing on the
bond after expiration of 60 days from the date the surety shall have files with the Commissioner a written request to
be released and discharged, but the surety shall not be released or discharged from liability already accrued or
which shall accrue before the expiration of the 60 day period. The Commissioner, upon receipt of the request, shall
promptly notify by mail the licensee who furnished the bond. Unless the licensee, prior to the expiration of the 60

day period, files a new bond satisfactorily to the Commissioner, the Commissioner shall revoke the license.
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