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Motorcycle Learner Permit 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles 

Agency of Transportation 

dmv.vermont.gov 

120 State Street 
Montpelier, Vermont 05603-0001 

802.828.2000 
Toll Free:  888-99-VERMONT 

                           

 

 

    
 

  Original Permit    First Renewal   Second Renewal   Duplicate 

Name:               Last                                                                First                                                                 Middle 

 

Mailing Address ( Street, Road or  PO Box ): City: State: Zip: 

 

Physical Address:  City: State: Zip: 

 

Phone Number: Email: 

  

Social Security Number: Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY): 

   -   -       /   /     

The disclosure of your social security or federal identification number is mandatory, is solicited by the authority granted by 42 U.S.C. § §405(c)(2)(C) and/or 666(a)(13) and will be used 
by the Department of Motor Vehicles in the administration of motor vehicle, tax and child support laws, to identify individuals affected by such laws. 

Place of Birth (City, State & Country): 

 

Vermont Driver License/Permit Number: Expiration Date of Previous Permit (MM/DD/YYYY): 

          /   /     

Gender: Eye Color: Height: Weight: 

 Male      Female    

Check if the above is a change to:   Mailing     Physical address 

Is the above a change of address for voting purposes?   Yes     No 

ARE YOU A US CITIZEN?   Yes     No    IF “NO”, Do you have proof of legal presence?   Yes     No 

 Check if name has changed. List previous names used:   

First                  M.I.:                   Last First                  M. I.:                   Last 

1 Do you need glasses or contact lenses when driving?  Yes   No 

2 Is your privilege revoked, restricted, suspended, or refused in any state?  Yes   No 

3 Do you now hold a valid license from another state?  If yes, what state:  Yes   No 

4 
Do you have a history of any physical or mental condition, other than properly corrected eyesight, that 
could affect your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle?  If yes, explain on back    

 Yes   No 

5 I certify that I am a Vermont Resident, as defined in Title 23 V.S.A. § 4 (See back)  Yes   No 

Signature of Applicant: 
I certify that the statements herein are true.  This declaration made under penalties of 23 VSA § 202.       Date: 

Signature of Parent or Guardian 
if applicant is under 18: 

I hereby consent to the issuance of the license/permit: 
 Parent  

 Guardian 

Date: 

DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE – DMV USE 
ONLY 

AUDIT LINE: 

PID   REST.   
RATER # First Exam 21  

  NAME CHANGE (231)   DOC LOC Subsequent Exam 22  

  DOB CHANGE  (231)   MAILING ADD (232) ISSUE DATE Permit 71  

  MISC CHANGE   (231)   SSN CHANGE (232) Duplicate 23  

POB SEX EYE HT WGT   PHYSICAL ADD (233) EXP DATE Miscellaneous  10  

  PDPS ADD    CHG     DEL TOTAL FEE 
 

 

http://www.dmv.state.vt/


VL-27 1M 6/16 

 

Fees: 

Motorcycle Learner Permit – Exam $9.00 

Motorcycle Learner Permit – Original $20.00 

Motorcycle Learner Permit - Renewal $20.00 

Motorcycle Learner Permit – Duplicate $20.00 
 

Explanation of Mental or Physical Condition (other than eyesight) 

 

 

 If the address shown on this application differs from that on your current license, this application will be considered a notice of 
change of address. The Department of Motor Vehicles must be notified in writing within 30 days of any change in your mailing 
address, legal residence or legal name. 

 Applicant must hold a valid Vermont Operator, CDL or Junior Operator License to qualify for a Motorcycle Learner Permit. 

 Make an appointment for an examination (802.828.2085). At the examination, 20 of the 25 questions must be answered 
correctly. If the written test is failed, there is a waiting period of at least one day before the exam may be taken again. 

 If you are 16 or 17 years old in addition to having a valid Jr. Operator License, you MUST also have a parent or legal guardian 
sign the Motorcycle Learner Permit Application. 

 After the permit is issued you may call to schedule an appointment for your skills test (802.828.2085). The permit is valid for 
120 days from the date of issue. If the appointment is not made, or you do not feel confident to take the skills test, at the end of 
the 120 days, the permit may be renewed. You may renew by mail. Renewal forms are available at all Department of Motor 
Vehicle offices. 

 A Motorcycle Learner Permit may be renewed only twice. If, during the original permit period and two renewals, you have not 
taken the skills test nor the motorcycle rider training course, you may not obtain another motorcycle learner permit for a period 
of 12 months from the expiration date of the permit unless you successfully complete the Motorcycle Rider Training Course. 

The Motorcycle Learner Permit will allow you to ride a motorcycle on any public highway to become familiar with actual in traffic 
operation. There are certain restrictions: 1) A motorcycle may be operated during daylight hours only; 2) The Motorcycle Learner 
Permit-holder is not allowed to carry any passengers; 3) The motorcycle learner permit is valid in VERMONT only. Ignoring the 
restrictions will void the Motorcycle Learner Permit. 

PLEASE NOTE:  Motorcycle skill tests are NOT given during the WINTER months, from the first of NOVEMBER through the end 
of MARCH. 

Vermont Resident:  23 VSA §4(30) defines a "Resident," for purposes of this title only, “any person living in the State who intends 
to make the State his or her principal place of domicile either permanently or for an indefinite number of years. Without limiting the 
class of nonresidents under the provisions of this subdivision, persons who live in the State for a particular purpose involving a 
defined period of time, including students, migrant workers employed in seasonal occupations, and persons employed under a 
contract with a fixed term, are not residents for purposes of this title only. Also in addition thereto, any foreign partnership, firm, 
association, or corporation having a place of business in this State shall be deemed to be a resident as to all vehicles owned or 
leased and which are garaged or maintained in this State”. 

Motorcycles: 23 VSA §4 (18)(A) defines a “Motorcycle” as “any motor vehicle having a seat or saddle for the use of the rider and 
designed to travel on not more than three wheels in contact with the ground, and shall include autocycles but exclude motor-driven 
cycles, golf carts, track driven vehicles, tractors, and electric personal assistive mobility devices”.  The operator of any vehicle that 
is considered a motorcycle must have a motorcycle endorsement on their driver's license.  

Autocycles:  23 VSA §4 (18)(B) defines an “Autocycle” as “a three-wheeled motorcycle in which the occupants sit with their legs 
forward; designed to be controlled with a steering wheel and pedals; and equipped with safety belts for all occupants”.  "Fully 
Enclosed Autocycles" are defined as “an autocycle equipped with a windshield and that has full top and side enclosures capable of 
supporting the vehicle's weight and protecting the occupants when the vehicle is resting on the enclosures”. 

3-Wheeled Motorcycles and Autocycles:  Operators of 3-wheeled motorcycles and autocycles are required to take the motorcycle 
learner's permit examination and the motorcycle skills test. After passing the required exams, operators will receive a motorcycle 
endorsement (M) with a restriction limiting them to operation of 3-wheeled motorcycles only. 

Motor-driven cycles (previously Scooters & Mopeds):  “Motor-driven cycle”. Previously known as “Mopeds”, a Motor-driven cycle 
is defined as “any vehicle equipped with two or three wheels, a power source providing up to a maximum of two brake horsepower 
and having a maximum piston or rotor displacement of 50 cubic centimeters if a combustion engine is used, which will propel the 
vehicle, unassisted, at a speed not to exceed 30 miles per hour on a level road surface, and which is equipped with a power drive 
system that functions directly or automatically only, not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is 
engaged”.  The operator of any vehicle that is considered a Motor-driven cycle is NOT required to have a motorcycle endorsement 
on their driver's license.  
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